

Physical Therapy Compact Commission Executive Board Meeting Minutes

August 21, 2017 WebEx

MEMBERS PRESENT: Troy Costales, Oregon, Chair

Kathy Arney, PT, North Carolina, Vice Chair

Jeanne DeKrey, PT, North Dakota, Secretary/Treasurer Harvey Aikman, PT, Texas, Executive Board At Large Connie Clarkston, Missouri, Executive Board At Large Melinda Richardson, PT, Arizona, Executive Board At Large Michael Sobowale, Tennessee, Executive Board At Large

David Relling, PT, FSBPT, Ex Officio Angela Shuman, APTA, Ex Officio

LEGAL COUNSEL PRESENT: Rick Masters

COMMISSION STAFF PRESENT: T.J. Cantwell, Compact Administrator

FSBPT STAFF PRESENT: William Hatherill, CEO

Susan Layton, COO

Mark Lane, PT, Vice President

Linda Michelsen, CFO

Jeffrey Rosa, Managing Director, Post Licensure Services

Call to Order

The meeting was called to Order at 3:03 PM, ET.

Approval of Minutes from July 24, 2017 Meeting

<u>Motion</u>: Harvey Aikman moved to approve the July 24, 2017 Executive Board meeting minutes as submitted. Melinda Richardson seconded the motion. The motion carried without objection. Connie Clarkston abstained.

State of the Compact

Jeffrey Rosa provided an update on the current status of the Compact.

Introduction of Compact Administrator

Jeffrey Rosa introduced T.J. Cantwell, the new Compact Administrator, who began work on July 31. T.J. provided some professional background about himself.

Budget Update/Planning

Jeffrey Rosa provided an update on the Compact budget planning. Compact staff will draft a guidance document for member states to consider when determining their state fees for Compact Privileges.

Proposed Contract with Council of State Governments (CSG) and with LCASO

<u>Motion</u>: Kathy Arney moved that the Executive Board go into closed session pursuant to Section 7.E.2.d. of the Compact statute to discuss the negotiation of contracts for the purchase of goods or services. Jeanne DeKrey seconded the motion. Rick Masters certified the reason for going into closed session. T.J. Cantwell called the roll.

Troy Costales	Yes
Kathy Arney	Yes
Jeanne DeKrey	Yes
Harvey Aikman	Yes
Connie Clarkston	Yes
Melinda Richardson	Yes
Michael Sobowale	Yes

The motion carried.

The Executive Board entered closed session at 3:31 p.m. ET.

The Executive Board returned to open session at 4:26 pm ET.

<u>Motion</u>: Harvey Aikman moved to approve the contract between the Compact Commission and LCASO, subject to the revisions proposed. All members of the Executive Board will be given ten days to review the revised contract. If no objections are raised within the ten day period, the contract will be automatically approved. Connie Clarkston seconded the motion. The motion carried without objection.

<u>Motion</u>: Michael Sobowale moved to table discussion of the CSG contract until the next meeting of the Executive Board. Jeanne DeKrey seconded. The motion carried without objection.

<u>Discussion Paper on Commission Funding of Delegate Travel</u>

The Executive Board reviewed the discussion paper on Commission funding of delegate travel.

Melinda Richardson and David Relling left the meeting at 4:48 p.m. ET

Updates on Bylaws and Rules Task Force

Jeffrey Rosa provided a brief update on the progress of the Bylaws and Rules Task Forces

<u>Update on ptcompact.org and Systems Development</u>

Jeffrey Rosa provided a brief update on the ptcompact.org and systems development.

Planning for Next Meeting

A special meeting of the Executive Board will be held in September to review the contract with CSG and to discuss annual member board assessments. The Executive Board will also meet in October 2017.

Adjournment

Connie Clarkston moved to adjourn the August 21, 2017, meeting of the Executive Board. Michael Sobowale seconded the motion. The motion carried without objection.

The August 21, 2017, meeting of the Executive Board adjourned at 5:00 PM, ET.