

Physical Therapy Compact Commission Minutes June 14, 2017

WebEx

DELEGATES PRESENT:	Troy Costales, Oregon, Chair Kathy Arney, PT, North Carolina, Vice Chair Jeanne DeKrey, PT, North Dakota, Secretary/Treasurer Harvey Aikman, PT, Texas, Executive Board At Large Melinda Richardson, PT, Arizona, Executive Board At Large Michael Sobowale, Tennessee, Executive Board At Large Carolyn Armstrong, PT, Colorado Jeff Busjahn, Utah Jenn Lorengo, PT, Montana Scott Majors, Kentucky Shannon Singletary, PT, Mississippi (left at 2:15 PM) Andrew Wodka, PT, DPT, Washington
EX OFFICIO DELEGATES PRESENT:	David Relling, PT, FSBPT Angela Shuman, APTA
DELEGATES ABSENT:	Connie Clarkston, Missouri, Executive Board At Large
LEGAL COUNSEL PRESENT:	Rick Masters
FSBPT STAFF:	William Hatherill, CEO Susan Layton, COO Mark Lane, PT, Vice President Linda Michelsen, CFO Jeffrey Rosa, Managing Director, Post Licensure Services Seif Mahmoud, Managing Director, Information Systems Leslie Adrian, Director of Professional Standards

Call to Order

The meeting was called to Order at 1:07 PM, ET.

Robert's Rules of Order

Colorado moved to conduct the business of the Physical Therapy Compact Commission in accordance with Robert's Rules of Order, pending the adoption of the Commission's rules and bylaws. Arizona seconded the motion. The motion carried without objection.

Reordering of the Agenda

There was no objection to reordering the published agenda to move the Public Comment item to occur prior to the Closed Session.

Elections

For the positions of Chair and Vice Chair, Delegates voted by sending an email to <u>vote@ptcompact.org</u>. Mark Lane and Susan Layton served as tellers and tabulated the votes and reported the winning candidate. The total votes received by each candidate is available upon a request to any member of the Commission by contacting the Commisson staff at <u>info@ptcompact.org</u>.

Chair

The candidates for Chair were Harvey Aikman (TX) and Troy Costales (OR). Having received a majority of the votes cast, Troy Costales (OR) was elected as Chair of the Physical Therapy Compact Commission. His term will end at the conclusion of the November 5, 2017, meeting of the Physical Therapy Compact Commission.

Vice Chair

The candidates for Vice Chair were Kathy Arney (NC) and Jeanne DeKrey (ND). Having received a majority of the votes cast, Kathy Arney (NC) was elected as Vice Chair of the Physical Therapy Compact Commission. Her term will end at the conclusion of the November 5, 2017, meeting of the Physical Therapy Compact Commission.

Secretary/Treasurer

The candidate for Secretary/Treasurer was Jeanne DeKrey (ND). There being no objection, Jeanne DeKrey (ND) was elected as Secretary/Treasurer of the Physical Therapy Compact Commission by acclamation. Her term will end at the conclusion of the November 5, 2017, meeting of the Physical Therapy Compact Commission.

At Large Member of the Executive Board

The candidates for the four (4) At Large Member of the Executive Board positions were Harvey Aikman (TX), Connie Clarkston (MO), Melinda Richardson (AZ), and Michael Sobowale (TN). There being no objection, Harvey Aikman (TX), Connie Clarkston (MO), Melinda Richardson (AZ), and Michael Sobowale (TN) were elected as At Large Members of the Executive Board of the Physical Therapy Compact Commission by acclamation. Their terms will end at the conclusion of the November 5, 2017, meeting of the Physical Therapy Compact Commission.

Appointment of Task Forces

Hearing no objection, Chair Costales announced that the following individuals were appointed to the Rules Task Force:

Harvey Aikman (TX), Kathy Arney (NC), Connie Clarkston (MO), Jeanne DeKrey (ND), and Shannon Singletary (MS).

Hearing no objection, Chair Costales announced that the following individuals were appointed to the Bylaws Task Force:

Dawn Christian (MT), Troy Costales (OR), Melinda Richardson (AZ), Michael Sobowale (TN), Mark Steinagel (UT), and Andrew Wodka (WA).

Orientation to the Physical Therapy Licensure Compact

Mark Lane, William Hatherill, and Jeffrey Rosa provided an orientation to the Compact. The topics covered included compact basics, organizational overview and administrative support, financial overview, and a systems and website overview.

Meeting Calendar

The members of the Commission reviewed the proposed meeting calendar for the remainder of 2017.

Public Comment

Cameron MacDonald, PT, the President of the Colorado Chapter of the APTA provided public comments regarding the status of Colorado's membership in the Physical Therapy Compact.

Closed Session

Texas moved that the Compact Commission go into Closed Session in accordance with Sections 7.E.2.a., d., and f. to discuss: non-compliance of a member state with its obligations under the Compact; Negotiation of contracts for the purchase, lease, or sale of goods, services, or real estate; and Disclosure of trade secrets or commercial or financial information that is privileged or confidential. Montana seconded the motion. The motion carried without objection.

The Compact Commission went into Closed Session at 2:38 PM.

Reconvene to Open Session

The Compact Commission reconvened to Open Session at 3:50 PM.

Chair Costales announced that the Delegates reviewed the written comments sent via email by Cameron MacDonald, President of the Colorado Chapter of the APTA. Chair Costales also announced that, in accordance with Robert's Rules of Order, the Delegate from Colorado recused herself due to a conflict of interest with the issue at hand.

Determination of Colorado Being in Default of its Obligations or Responsibilities

Texas moved that the Commission finds Colorado to be in default in the performance of its obligations or responsibilities under this Compact based on the amendment to Colorado Revised Statute 24-34-110, which subjects individuals seeking a Compact Privilege in Colorado to comply with the requirements of the Medical Transparency Act of 2010, and Colorado's membership in the Compact is hereby suspended.

Texas further moved that the administrator of the Compact Commission shall provide written notice to Colorado, in accordance with Section 10.B.1.a. of the Compact, requiring either the Colorado legislature repeal the amendment to section (3)(a)(XIII) of CRS 24-34-110 or requiring Colorado to not require

individuals seeking a Compact Privilege in Colorado to comply with the requirements of the Medical Transparency Act of 2010.

Colorado's membership in the Compact is suspended until the default is cured.

North Dakota seconded the motion.

The Chair called for a roll call vote.

Arizona	Yes
Kentucky	Yes
Missouri	Absent
Mississippi	Absent
Montana	Yes
North Carolina	Yes
North Dakota	Yes
Oregon	Yes
Tennessee	Abstain
Texas	Yes
Utah	Yes
Washington	Yes

The Delegate from Colorado, in accordance with Robert's Rules of Order, recused herself due to a conflict of interest with the issue at hand.

There being 9 affirmative votes and 1 abstention, the motion passed.

Appointment of LCASO Board Members

North Dakota moved that the individuals elected to serve as the Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary/Treasurer of the Commission shall also serve as the Commission's representatives on the Board of Directors of the Licensure Compact Administration Services Organization (LCASO). Texas seconded the motion.

The Chair called for a roll call vote.

Arizona	Yes
Colorado	Yes
Kentucky	Yes
Missouri	Absent
Mississippi	Absent
Montana	Yes
North Carolina	Yes
North Dakota	Yes
Oregon	Yes
Tennessee	Yes
Texas	Yes
Utah	Yes
Washington	Yes

There being 11 affirmative votes, the motion passed.

Adjournment

Colorado moved to adjourn the June 14, 2017 meeting of the Physical Therapy Compact Commission. North Dakota seconded the motion. The motion carried without objection.

The June 14, 2017, meeting of the Physical Therapy Compact Commission adjourned at 4:23 PM, ET.

The next scheduled meeting of the Physical Therapy Compact Commission is November 5, 2017.